Advocacy Update

Forrest Wall

Written by Forrest Wall, CAE, Staff Vice President, and Industry Relations

Michigan House and Senate Leadership Elected

Fresh off the election, Democrats and Republicans elected their leadership teams for the 2019-2020 Legislative Session. In the House, Republican leadership will have a decidedly northern Michigan feel, with Rep. Lee Chatfield (R-Levering) as Speaker of the House, Rep. Triston Cole (R-Mancelona) as Majority Floor Leader, and Rep. Jason Wentworth (R-Clare) as Speaker Pro Tempore. At age 30, Mr. Chatfield will be the youngest speaker in over 100 years. On the Democratic side, Rep. Christine Greig (D-Farmington Hills) will lead the caucus as Minority Leader, and Rep. Yousef Rabhi (D-Ann Arbor) will serve as Minority Floor Leader. Ms. Greig becomes the third woman to lead a legislative caucus. Republicans hold a 58-52 majority in the Michigan House for 2019-20, down from a 63-47 majority in the current session.

In the Senate, Sen. Mike Shirkey (R-Clarklake) will take over as Majority Leader for the Republicans, with Sen. Peter MacGregor (R-Rockford) serving as Majority Floor Leader. Sen. Jim Ananich (D-Flint) will remain in his current role of Minority Leader on the Democratic side, with Sen. Stephanie Chang (D-Detroit) moving into the Minority Floor Leader position. Republicans hold a 22-16 advantage in the Michigan Senate, which is down from a 27-11 supermajority in the current session.

Thank You From AAM-PAC

Our efforts to support elected officials who understand the important role of rental housing in Michigan’s economy took another positive step with the 2018 General Election. AAM-PAC scored a 93 percent success rate in state legislative races in which we financially supported a candidate!

Of course, none of this success would have been possible without the generous contributions to the fund from the membership. Special thanks go to the following group of leaders and their strong commitment to AAM-PAC in 2018:

Platinum Level

  • Allen & Jerome Amber
  • Matthew Lester
  • Gold Level
  • Cary Belovicz
  • Mitchell & Adam Bleznak
  • George Nyman
  • Shawn Stafford

Silver Level

  • Bob & Jay Brody
  • Kevin Dillon
  • Melvin & Jeffrey Kaftan


This entry was posted in 2018, DECEMBER 2018. Bookmark the permalink.